Dolly Wink Eyeshadow: #03 Country Retro Review

Hello everyone!
Boo sorry I haven’t been able to post in a few days! I was a little busy but I hope now I will have time to post a bit more! This one has turned out to be quite long one, and all for one eyeshadow sheesh!~

Today I am going to review the Dolly Wink eyeshadow palette number 3, Blue/Orange. I bought mine on eBay for around $20.

The eyeshadow will come in a small plastic box stuck to a little booklet.

When you open the booklet it will be filled with cute pictures of Tsubasa wearing the eyeshdow palette! I really love this way of packaging, Tsubasa is always nice to look at and it’s nice to see the eyeshadow being worn too. ^_^

On the back are some instructions on how to apply the shadow, the instructions themselves are written in Japanese but the pictures are pretty self explanatory if you cannot read them. This is what I followed when applying the eyeshadow. You don’t have to follow them of course, you can use the colors as you see fit. ^o^

The case which holds the eyeshadow is pretty cute, simple and elegant. The colors is shown through a clear plastic heart which is a nice touch.
The truth is I prefer natural more subtle colors when I’m choosing eyeshadow, but I wanted to give this a try as I was very happy with my previous dolly wink eyeshadow (01 brown). My other palette has only started to run out and I have had it for almost a year, so I assume this one will be long lasting too. Once I had applied the colors I realized that they didn’t really suit me, or to pinpoint it the blue is what really didn’t suit me.

Once applied the colors themselves are pretty vibrant, which is good if you love bright eyeshadows. Sadly after wearing the eyeshadow for a couple hours the color begins to fade and crease, perhaps using a eyeshadow primer would help to prevent this.
For me the blue color is a little to heavy, however the other colors in the palette are quite nice. The orange color is my favorite and I think I will try to use it from time to time when I’m in the mood for a splash of color!

Ewww I hate my hair straight like this ahaha!~
Maybe you can see what I mean when I say the blue color looks a little harsh on my pale skin-tone. These kind of vibrant colors would probably look better on someone with warmer skin tones.

Overall I think this eyeshadow pallet is a very unique color combination and will be great for anyone who loves bright eyeshadow, just remember to team it with an eyeshadow primer!!

Overall score: 7/10

  •     Vibrant Colors
  •     Unique Combination
  •     Fades over time
  •     A little pricey
  •     Will last for a long time
10 responses to “Dolly Wink Eyeshadow: #03 Country Retro Review

  1. hey babe i totes think the blue actually looks better on pale skin tones. It stands out and looks great on you! I struggle with blues so I usually only wear them with my tribal look. Maybe like if you wear black then blue/orange shadow is going to feel kind of weird. hmmmm…

    • aww thank you so much >//<!
      Perhaps the shock of such a strong color is the problem for me lol! Im so used to wearing just browns,blacks and creams. I should experiment with this more. ^_^

      • I used to hate blue also. But i realized it worked so well with my tribal style that I started liking it XD

Leave a Reply

